Krakatoa …

Standard

So beautiful, looking forward to exploring this ...

I’m off to Krakatoa in the morning with some great friends and I’m excited. I’ll post on Sunday when we are back, hopefully with some  interesting tales and exciting photos … We hear the snorkelling is amazing so looking forward to getting into the sea and swimming with the diverse aquatic life of Indonesia. I haven’t done a lot of travelling in Indonesia (although I’ve travelled to Gili Trawangan many times now!) and I’ve disappointed myself a little in my lack of exploring the beautiful country I reside in. I put it down to being so busy at work but I can also say that the traffic is a huge factor. Getting anywhere here is so arduous that it definitely puts a dampner on plans to explore. However, I know many people who have travelled so I can’t blame it solely on that. Anyway, I hope it will be a wonderful weekend. We won’t climb the volcano. There is currently a 3 mile exclusion zone, in place since Nov 1 after Krakatoa’s volcanic activity escalated after Mount Merapi erupted, with thick plumes of smoke containing toxic material emitted from the volcano. Let’s hope we make it there and back safely.

Here are a few photos from the web I found this evening in preparation for tomorrow. Enjoy .. Have a lovely weekend people. We are lucky enough to have 5 days off for Chinese New Year so Happy Year of the Dragon everybody!

Plumes of smoke ... maybe we'll see this tomorrow ...

Hopefully we won't see this tomorrow .. !

One response »

Leave a Reply

